European Classic Series 2015


    A very disputed first round!

    After a 2014 season full of twists, the riders of the European Classic Series met again at the track of Paul Ricard in Castellet for the opening round of the 2015 season. After the qualification sessions we found the title holders, the Belgian riders Richard Hubin and Grégory Fastré in pole postion, followed by the English Team Sweatshop Phase One, with Hugh Brasher, Stéphane Mertens and Ian Simpson and the Italians Giorgio Cantalupo and Cristiano Ascanio from team Taurus.
    When the French flag announced the start of the four-hour race, team Taurus signed for the holeshot and took the lead after the first lap, staying in that position for 10 laps. Unfortunately, the young Italian rider was too eager, causing the GSX 1100 R to blow up its engine and leaving the team with no other option than to abandon in the 24th lap. The same path was set out for the Kawasaki number 2 from Team Hampe, with Christian Haquin, Nicolas De Dieuleveult and Bruno Langlois. The Suzuki of Team Monex Europe (Nick Edgeley and Kasey Wyatt) wasn't even able to leave the stands due to mechanical troubles.
    Team 85 Classic had to face some real misfortune: a crash in the first laps caused the Kawasaki rider to return to the box to repair the machine and then he still had to abandon after 42 laps. The BSA Rob North P&M from Team Hercberg Carthago (Andreas Kalmar, George Hogton-Rusling and Gary Thwaites) also had some mechanical issues which made the rider return to the box via the safety lane after which they also had to abandon.
    While most of the riders returned to their boxes after 45 minutes for the mandatory pit stop, some teams forgot about this rule and got a 30 seconds Stop & Go penalty, for instance the German team TT Racing Black Forest (Bruno Arzner and Stefan Merkens), who were at that time in the top three.
    In the front, the European champions had some clutch troubles with their Suzuki Harris and shared the leadership with the Moto Guzzi from Team Moto Bel’ (Christophe Charles-Artigues and Laurent Sleurs) and Team Sweatshop Phase One.
    As for the Classic 1000, the Kawasaki Segoni Special from the Italian team Scuderia Officine Toscane (Emiliano Bellucci and Oreste Zaccarelli), which started at the end of the start grid, climbed its way up to the 8th position after 4 laps when mechanical troubles occurred and they were forced back to the 22th position. They then made a beautiful comeback and finished 8th in the general ranking, followed by the AML Racing Team from Pierre d’Imbleval and Richard Weber and the German team Autohaus Sellmann with Erich Sellmann, Gerhard Ludwig and Sebastian Basse. In the 750 TT category, the Germans of the Team Capelli Belli (Eckhard Struck, Manfred Sieg and Robert Bohmhauer) finished 23rd in the general ranking as the only representatives in their class with their Ducati Verlicchi TT1.
    In the top 5 we saw Armor Classic Bike (Yannick Le Gaudu and Eric Mizera) and Roadrunner Team (Henk van der Mark and Dirk Brand) ride a very regular race finishing respectively 3rd and 4th in the general ranking. The 5th place was for the Swiss riders of the Bolliger Classic Endurance Team (Marcel Kellenberger and Andy Stierli) after a very nice battle with the Italians of Braghi Corse (Duilio Damiani and Giancarlo Rossi), who made a mistake in the last fifteen minutes of the race.
    Also note the very nice comeback of Segale Classic (Walo Bertschinger and Dario Tosolini), who started in the 21st position but climbed its way up to a 6th place and the Belgian team Real Dholda Friends (Gian Mertens and Willy de Neef) who started last, got a Stop & Go, and still finished 12th. The same goes for RPM 83 –GWCRT – Sun Moto who almost got in the top 10. The only female team (Patricia Audebert and Karine Sliz), finished 14th in the general ranking: congratulations girls!
    After this first successful round, the teams and riders look forward to meet again at the track of Spa-Francorchamps on July 3rd, 4th and 5th to continue the debates !

    General ranking:
    1. Team Force
    2. Sweatshop Phase One
    3. Armor Classic Bike

    4. Roadrunner Team

    5. Bolliger Classic Endurance
6. Team Segale Classic

    7. Neate Racing

    8. Scuderia Officine Toscane (Classic 1000)

    9.Red Fox Ride 4 Fun

    10. Moto Bel'

    11. GWCRT - RPM 83 - Sun Moto

    12. Real Dholda Friends

    13. Team Classic Suzuki

    14. RPM 83 - GWCRT

    15. Baloo Racing Team

    16. AML Racing

    17. Projekt 34
18. Poweracing - Japauto Club
19. CB 750 Club
20. Autohaus Sellmann (Classic 1000)

    21. Team SCERT

    22. Team Vision Plus

    23. Capelli Belli

    24. DD Moto Team

    25. Nocki Team

    26. Racer Garage
27. Eos-Neate Racing 2

    Full ranking on

  • Press Release # 6

    This weekend the Motorland Aragon circuit will be welcoming the final round of the European Classic Series. It promises to be a pretty close final!
    Since its creation in 2013, the European Classic Series has always experienced final rounds riddled with suspense, with the rankings being so close prior to the final round. This 2015 season will not escape the tradition. Top of the rankings, with 26 points, we have the Dutchmen of the Roadrunner Team (Van der Mark-Brand, Suzuki), who put in two excellent fourth places at le Castellet and at Spa. In 2nd and 3rd, tied on 25 points, the Belgians of Team Force (Hubin-Fastré, Suzuki), reigning European champions and winners at Castellet and the Germans of the Kaiser Classic Endurance Team (Kaiser-Steinmacher-Pfautsch, Kawasaki), winners at Spa.
    Behind this leading trio the ranks are pretty tight also: the Frenchman of the Moto Bel’ team (Charles-Artigues-Sleurs, Moto Guzzi) have presently clocked up 23 points and have called on the services of the Italian Samuele Sardi to reinforce the team during this third round. Just behind, the two English Sweatshop Phase One teams (Suzuki) both have 20 points and could well claim the top rung of the podium which they had done in the 2013 season. Who from the Mertens-Simpson team or the Brasher-Linden duo will bring home the most points allowing the team of the nice Lida to find themselves at the top of the bill?
    In Classic 1000, the Scuderia Officine Toscane (Bellucci-Zaccarelli, Segoni Special), holders of the title in the first two seasons as also winners of the two first rounds will also be defending their title ahead of the Frenchman of AML Racing (Weber-D’Imbleval) and the Germans of the Autohaus Sellmann team (Sellmann-Ludwig-Basse).
    In 750 TT, the Germans of the Capelli Belli team (Struck-Sieg-Bohmhauer) will be joined by the Spaniards of Nanchy 350 (Del Mar Acebes Herranz-Ortiz de Lanzagorta-Moran).
    One thing is for sure, the race promises to be thrilling under the Aragon sun!